Job Designer

The Job Designer tool lets you edit the configuration of a job. It allows you to edit all aspects of a job, except for the scheduling rules. Existing jobs can be edited and deleted and new jobs can be created.

Searching

Find the job you are interested in by searching for it. The "*" search pattern will return all jobs the user has rights to. Using the character "*" before and/or after a search pattern functions as a wild card. For example, the search pattern "Acme*", will return all jobs that start with the name "Acme". If you enter a number, then the job with the matching job id is searched for.

The jobs in the list box are displayed by their name followed by their unique job id. Note, names do not have to be unique and can be changed at anytime by the user. However, a job's id is unique and can never change.

Every user has rights to a given set of Partitions and Groups. Only the Partitions and Groups that the user has rights to will be available. When searching, it is possible to select specific Partitions and/or Groups to narrow the search as desired.

Once a search has returned its results, the jobs are displayed in the list screen. These jobs can then be edited, deleted, or copied. Select a job from the list and click the "Edit Job" button to edit the job.

Hints:
Put your cursor over a job in the search result list and you will see a tooltip detailing information about the job such as scheduling status, next run date ..etc.

Adding Jobs

Clicking on the "New Job" button will create a new job with default settings. The user will be directed to the edit screen where the job can be edited further.

Once created, a job will be assigned a job id number. This id will be unique and can't be changed for the life of the job. The user can give the job any name and the name does not have to be unique but it is recommended to make it unique to avoid confusion. Note, that the search result screen shows the job name and job id to help the user distinguish between jobs with the same name.

Cloning Jobs

A new job can be created by cloning an existing job. To do this, select an existing job and click the "Clone Job" button. This feature can be convenient when you want reuse the configuration of an existing job to avoid having to create all the scheduling rules and Tasklet workflow settings from scratch.

Deleting Jobs

A job can't be deleted, until it has been retired. After you have retired a job, you can narrow your job search to see only "retired" jobs, and then delete those retired jobs you wish to delete. Click the "Delete Job" button to delete retired jobs. Deleting a job will completely remove the job from existence along with all its historical runtime Job Tracker records. But a warning, once a job is deleted it can't be recovered. Note you must have adequate user rights to be able to delete and retire jobs. If you unretire a job, it will prevent it from being deleted. To delete multiple jobs, use the CTRL or SHIFT keys to select multiple jobs from the list.

Filter by Retired Jobs

You can narrow your search for retired jobs by selecting this checkbox. Note, you will only be able to search for retired jobs if you select this box. If the checkbox is not selected then you will not see any retired jobs in your search results. In this case, retired jobs will be excluded from all search results. You must have adqequate user rights to be able to delete retired jobs.

Running Jobs

Use the "Run Job" button to access the corresponding interface that allows you to run a job manually and immediately. This is separate from scheduling, as the job is run immediately, independent of how it is scheduled.

Job Tracker

The Job Tracker tool allows you to view the history of jobs that have run in the past and jobs that are currently running (or are queued). The tool allows you to view the runtime log history for jobs that the user is interested in seeing. You can select one or more jobs to search for in Job Tracker. To select multiple jobs, use the CTRL or SHIFT keys to select multiple jobs from the list.

Paging

The "Paging" value allows you to limit how many jobs are shown at once in the job list screen. You will be able to page backwards and forwards through the entire list as defined by the paging size. For example, if your search result returns 1000 jobs and your paging size is 200, then you will need to page 5 times to get to the end of the list.